The Doctoral Training Programme and the Three Doctoral Schools

The Doctoral Training Programme of the VUB is organised by three Doctoral Schools. These interdisciplinary and interfaculty Schools support PhD students, stimulate the quality of doctoral research at the VUB and help promote junior researchers.

The Doctoral Schools aim to provide a distinctive framework for the Doctoral Training Programme and, in so doing, increase the visibility of doctoral research and enhance its image, both within and outside the academic world.

Several faculties are associated with each Doctoral School and they join forces to organise the Doctoral Training Programme. Each Doctoral School is headed by a Director responsible for the day-to-day management of his or her Doctoral School. The Director consults with the faculties involved and the other Directors in order to determine Doctoral Training Programme policy and content.



Doctoral School of Human Sciences

Prof. Dr. Karen Francois, Director
Tel: +32 2 629 27 84
E-mail: dsh [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: 5B.425 (Campus Etterbeek)



Doctoral School of Natural Sciences and (Bioscience) Engineering

Prof. dr. ir. Gerd Vandersteen
Tel: 02 629 29 44
E-mail: NSE [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: 6K430 (Campus Etterbeek)



Doctoral School of Life Sciences and Medicine

Prof. Dr. Leo van Grunsven
Tel: 32-2-4774407
E-mail: LSM [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: D022 (Campus Jette)


Supported by