Contacting the Central PhD Office

We are located in room 4M423, building M, Campus Etterbeek.

Reception Coordinator Doctoral Training Programme & Doctoral Schools

Ms. Nele Van Schelvergem

+32 2 629 16 53
doctoral [dot] schools [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be

Ms. Hannelore de Grande 

+32 2 629 16 51
hannelore [dot] de [dot] grande [at] vub [dot] be

Mr. Lowie Geers

+32 2 629 21 41
lowie [dot] geers [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be

Please DO NOT send us any applications! Click here to read more about the application procedure.


Doctoral Schools

Doctoral School of Human Sciences

 Prof. Dr. Karen Francois, Director
Tel: +32 2 629 27 84
E-mail: dsh [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: 5B.425 (Campus Etterbeek)

Doctoral School of Natural Sciences and (Bioscience) Engineering

 Prof. Dr. Gerd Vandersteen, Director
Tel: 02 629 29 44
E-mail: NSE [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: 6K430 (Campus Etterbeek)

Doctoral School of Life Sciences and Medicine

 Prof. Dr. Leo Van Grunsven, Director
Tel:  +32 2 477 44 07
E-mail: lsm [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room: D022 (Campus Jette)


Faculty level

Faculty of Arts & Philosophy

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Erwin Cassiman
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Rik [dot] Vosters [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Rik Vosters)


Faculty of Law & Criminology

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: faculteit [dot] rechten [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Karin Goossens)
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Serge [dot] Gutwirth [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Serge Gutwirth)

Serge [dot] Gutwirth [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be ( )

Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences & Solvay Business School

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Marc Janssen
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Steven [dot] Vanduffel [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Steven Vanduffel)


Faculty of Psychology & Educational Sciences

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Ivo [dot] Van [dot] Akelijen [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Ivo Van Akelijen)
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Imke [dot] Baetens [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Imke Baetens)


Faculty of Science & Bioscience Engineering

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Murielle De Nul
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Geert [dot] Angenon [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Geert Angenon)


Faculty of Medicine & Pharmacy

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Bea Vermoesen
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Leo [dot] van [dot] Grunsven [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Prof. dr. Leo Van Grunsven)


Faculty of Engineering

  • Administrative contactperson PhD's: Stephanie [dot] Denis [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be (Stéphanie Denis)
  • President PhD Progress Monitoring Commission: Prof. dr. Rik Pintelon


Faculty of Physical Education & Physiotherapy


Ombudspersons for PhD students 2016-2017

  • Prof. Dr. Ann Nowé:

Campus Etterbeek, Building G, room 10G.711B
appointments [T] 02/629 38 61 or [E] Ann [dot] Nowe [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be

  • Prof. Dr. Luc Bouwens

Campus Jette, building D, ground floor, room D036,
appointments [T] 02/477 44 05 or [E] Luc [dot] Bouwens [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be


R&D Department

For questions regarding the administrative aspects of research projects and research grants, please contact the R&D Department:

Tel : +32 2 629 21 08
E-mail : RD [dot] secretariaat [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Room : 4M429 (Campus Etterbeek)


Student Administration Center (SAC)

For questions concerning the admission and registration procedures, you can contact the Student Administration Center


HR Department

For questions about your status as an employee of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, you can contact the HR Department:

Tel : +32 2 629 20 02
E-mail : onthaaldp [at] vub [dot] ac [dot] be
Campus Etterbeek, Building M, 1st floor


Supported by